Review Of Jingyan M6013 AutoRanging Capacitor Tester

By on August 13, 2012



I just got this meter few days ago. The reason I bought this meter is because it has the auto ranging mode which can save time and no calculation involve. For a common capacitor tester, it usually has 9 ranges and you need to select the right range to test on the capacitors.

jingyan m6013 digital capacitance meter

Some beginners may have problem in calculating the pico farad, nano  farad and micro farad value. With this meter you will instantly know the capacitor value without the hassle to select the right range to test. Take a look at all the photos below:

jingyan m6013 digital capacitance meter

jingyan m6013 autoranging digital capacitance meter

jingyan m6013 autoranging digital capacitance meter

jingyan m6013 autoranging digital capacitance meter

 

review jingyan m6013 autoranging digital capacitance meter

review jingyan m6013 autoranging digital capacitance meter

review jingyan m6013 autoranging digital capacitance meter circuit board

review jingyan m6013 autoranging digital capacitance meter circuit board

 

Advantages of the Jingyan M6013 Autoranging Capacitor Tester:

1)    Compact/Light/ Handy design

2)    Cheap price

3)    Fast response time- The moment you clip on the capacitor, the value immediately pop up. In some capacitor testers, you need to wait for it to calibrate first before it gives you the final value.

4)    Autoranging- You doesn’t need to select the right range for the right capacitor value. Just clip on the capacitor and read the value from the LCD screen. No calibration needed even when you are measuring the capacitor in picofarad range.

5)    Wide measurement range- it can test from 0.01pf up to 47000uf

6)    You can turn off/on the LCD screen backlight.

 

Disadvantages of the meter:

 

1)    Small LCD screen as compare to other capacitor testers

2)    Does not have auto shutdown. This means you need to replace the battery if you did not turn off the meter (if you left it “On” for sometime)

review jingyan m6013 autoranging digital capacitance meter circuit board

Note: This meter is a digital capacitance meter and it is use to test on the capacitance value of capacitors. It can’t be used to check on the ESR of a capacitor. You need an ESR meter to check on the ESR value of capacitors.

Disadvantages of the Packaging

1)    The meter is without a box

2)    The manual is in one piece of A4 size paper

3)    It took about 27 days to reach my country Malaysia from Hong Kong using the free delivery service. 

4)    Since the owner provides free shipping- this meter ended up outside my office letter box and anyone can just take it away as compare to a registered mail. For your information, I saw the package in my letter box when I was going for lunch.

 

Note: I suggest that you email the owner if you want the meter to reach your place fast and secure. Of course you have to pay for the additional shipping charge. I bought from this Ebay seller

Special notice: I do not endorse that you should use this meter nor I’m affiliated with the owner. This is just a review based on my own opinion. Since I just got this meter, thus I’m not sure how reliable this meter will be in the long run. If you think that you want to buy this tester, then you have to take your own responsibility.

Question- Why do we still need a digital capacitance meter when the ESR meter is much more accurate in testing an electrolytic capacitor?

Answer- In some rare cases, an electrolytic capacitor can have a good ESR value but the capacitance value can be out. This means when you do your troubleshooting work and did not find any bad e-caps with high ESR, you can start to use the digital capacitance meter to check on the capacitance value.

This meter also can be used to check on low value non-polarity capacitors in which the ESR meter can’t test it. 

If you have any question about this post please feel free to comment-thanks.

Jestine Yong

Likes(22)Dislikes(0)





122 Comments

  1. beh

    August 13, 2012 at 5:42 am

    HI MR YONG
    yes it is intresting but what about the price of it?
    thanks
    beh

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 9:25 am

      Hi Beh,

      It is USD27.99. Did you get my email that i have sent few days ago?

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  2. gregorio pariente

    August 13, 2012 at 5:43 am

    hellow justine i like that kind of tester specially in small capacitor ...maybe someday i can have that one..thanks

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  3. Dominic

    August 13, 2012 at 6:18 am

    Thank you very much for information,Justine.I have a Capacitance Meter incorporated into a Volt-Ohm multimeter but it is not auto-ranging.It also has an Inductance Range in Henry & Milli-Henry.For my present needs I think it would be better  to try to buy an ESR meter as this would be more useful to me.
    Once again thaks & keep up the good work for the sake of all technicians around the globe!

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 9:24 am

      Hi Dominic,

      Yes it is a good idea to get an ESR meter.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  4. Tyrone

    August 13, 2012 at 6:30 am

    very educative-thanks

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  5. ricardo ramos

    August 13, 2012 at 6:48 am

    Dear Jestine,
    I really enjoy reading your news and blogs, and I'm learning from it. Thank you so much for the information that you always shared to every technician and enthusiast like me. Hope you can help more electronic technicians who are searching for the rigth solutions for their electronic problems. God bless you alway.       
    Always,
    Ricardo Ramos

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  6. Tyrone.

    August 13, 2012 at 7:14 am

    I enjoyed this article and I also this capacitor tester JESTINE

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  7. vasile

    August 13, 2012 at 8:19 am

    Hi Jestine,
    Can you tell me the price for capacitor tester?
    Thanks!
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 9:23 am

      Hi Vasile,

      The price is USD27.99

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  8. Andy Shiekh

    August 13, 2012 at 8:43 am

    Nice unit, but fortunately for me the Fluke 100 DMM has a built in auto-ranging capacitance mode.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 9:39 am

      Hi Andy,

      What is the capacitance range the fluke 100 meter could test? It seems like google also hard to find info about fluke 100.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  9. BOB ENGELS

    August 13, 2012 at 9:15 am

    VERY FAIR REVIEW

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  10. Mano

    August 13, 2012 at 9:15 am

    Dear Jestine Yong,
    Can we test using this meter in circuit capacitors or do we need to remove capacitors from circuits,
    How much this cost?
    Thank you,
    Sincerely,
    Mano

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 9:41 am

      Hi Mano,

      You have to test the capacitor off board and the price is USD27.99 as mentioned in the ebay website.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  11. Andy Shiekh

    August 13, 2012 at 10:01 am

    I see the same company has an ESR meter: Jingyan MESR-100 (also on ebay)
    Concerning the Fluke 110, the manual states 1 nF to 9999 uF, so not as broad a range as the meter discussed here.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 1:16 am

      Hi Andy,

      I didn't buy that to test because I already have ESR meter. I bought the M6013 because it is an Autoranging capacitor which my current capacitor don't have this feature. About the Fluke 9999uf is consider a good range but the 1nf is not enough as there are lots of caps that is rated as lower than 1 nf.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  12. Mike Barelli

    August 13, 2012 at 10:49 am

    The best ESR meter for the price is the Capacitor Wizard.  See Howard Electronics.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  13. beh

    August 13, 2012 at 10:58 am

    HI MR YONG
    thank you for reply .but. i did not recieved any  e mail during last few daysfrom your side . if you do not mind please send me again
    besdt regards
    beh

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 8:58 pm

      Hi Beh,

      In fact I have sent about 4 to 5 emails to you. I guess my email could have been blocked.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  14. Rabia bousseloub

    August 13, 2012 at 1:20 pm

    Very Interesting and save time in testing and repairing...! Thanks ,we save that  for future needs.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  15. mugeca

    August 13, 2012 at 1:52 pm

    hi jestine. i so much like this. just broken my cup of coffee due to excitement. what i wonder is when it will ever reach kenya... seems forever.
    thanks

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 8:56 pm

      Hi Mugeca,

      You can try email the owner to check how long it will reach your country. I suggest that you use registered mail.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  16. Nimal

    August 13, 2012 at 2:20 pm

    Thank you for the review of the capacitor meter.  I will check  if it is available here.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  17. inocent

    August 13, 2012 at 2:41 pm

    very  good

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  18. Arthur West

    August 13, 2012 at 3:36 pm

    How much is this meter costing, need the best way to know how to pay without having difficulty purchasing online also.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 9:05 pm

      Hi Arthur,

      It is USD27.99 and I suggest that you email the owner for other mode of payment.
      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  19. john shannon

    August 13, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    hi have bought this meter even though i have access to other capacitor meters .the reason being the high values that the meter can read this really is extremely usefull .i am  glad i bought it  now ...also due to the reccession i am buying as many tools now so that in the future when i need them i wont be spending money that maybe i would need for more important  things this definitly is an investment .... sorry to be gushing but good tools can save a lot of time and cut out the guessing and earn us some needed money

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 8:55 pm

      Hi John,

      Yes you are right the capacitance range it can test is very high.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  20. Jonathan

    August 13, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    Thanks for the info! Best price for a cap meter I've ever seen, and it's auto ranging.too.
    I just baugtht a 26" lcd tvhd (beautful picture) that shuts off after about three minuts.. I
    got it to repair,just something to do, as I don't watch tv,spend my spare time on the web-youtube
    ect.. You're a generious , sharing, good "world citizen". Best of good luck in all you do.
      thanks again
      Jonathan

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  21. Aboagye

    August 13, 2012 at 6:13 pm

    Hi Jestine,
    It's a pity I don't have paypal to order one whereas I desprately need one. I wish I could have a way to buy and try it. Thanks anyway and keep updating us.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  22. Roderico Garcia

    August 13, 2012 at 7:52 pm

    Muchas gracias por la informacion, estaremos al tanto de sus noticias. Saludos.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  23. Abdul

    August 13, 2012 at 8:09 pm

    Hi Jestine,
    Good and sincere review.
    I bought the tester and it arrived in Singapore after about 14 days. Unluckily after nine times of testing two capacitors, the indication on the screen read "Low Batt" .I have replaced a fresh new 9volts battery and it works again.
    I am still awaiting the arrival of SMD Test Clip Meter Probe Multitester Tweezer and it's been 35 days.
    This is what happened when you ordered on ebay with free shipping.
    Abdul.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      Hi Abdul,

      Yes you are right, using fee shipping will make you to wait forever. In the next order try email the owner to pay for the extra fees so that your item will be guaranteed to arrive. In fact the moment I opened up the package i saw the switch is on the "ON" mode and when i tested the battery it reads only 1 volt. I replaced with a new battery and is working fine now.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  24. victro alm

    August 13, 2012 at 8:44 pm

    Hi Yong
     
    very nice. in the future i will get one

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  25. Ner

    August 13, 2012 at 10:28 pm

    Very Informative, Do we still need to short out the capacitors lead before attaching the test clip or not? 

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 13, 2012 at 11:13 pm

      Hi NER,

      Yes you still need to discharge the cap first before testing it.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  26. Brij

    August 13, 2012 at 11:46 pm

    Hi Jastine,
     
    You are doing good job for the electronic/computer service industry. Yes price is slightly high.
     
    Regards 
     
    Brij 

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 1:07 am

      Hi Brij,

      The price is cheap as compare to other digital capacitance meter.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  27. Mahesh

    August 13, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    Dear Jestine,
    Greetings from SIngapore.
    I was looking through various capacitance meter on ebay and i saw this one. I also came across the LC200A, and am having a tough time deciding between the two. The LC200A is more expensive, but it has a higher range as well as can measure inductance. What would you suggest.
    Regards
    Mahesh

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 1:10 am

      Hi Mahesh,

      The capacitance range that LC200A can test is so low-max only 10uf. In circuit board there are lots of caps that is more than 10uf. You can get A LCR meter that usually have higher testing range.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  28. yogesh

    August 14, 2012 at 1:07 am

    good testing intrument i requist

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  29. Karel

    August 14, 2012 at 1:26 am

    Hi Jestine.
    A must have for any Electronics’ repairer ! thanks.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  30. Peter O

    August 14, 2012 at 1:40 am

    Jestine,
    Thanks for the heads up.
    Your review is fair & thorough.
    IMHO the price is not low: I note that "budget" DMM's are now available priced anywhere in the range USD10 to about USD30. Some feature auto ranging & the higher price units "auto-off". So with that in mind the (single function) cap meter which looks very "Generation One" may not be overpriced but it's not low either.
    I would suggest to any potential purchaser - don't buy any instrument that does not feature Auto-off. You will be forever draining relativel costly 9V batteries, even with the best of disciplines.
    Also worth remembering that most of the work in cap testing involves the actual removal process, so technicians need to be careful to select only "suspect" caps for testing. I do not have sufficient tech knowhow to say if an ESR meter would be a better first investment but it seems Jestine is saying you need both.
     
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 2:49 am

      Hi Peter,

      The reason I say cheap price is because other brand of stand alone digital capacitance tester are more expensive than this one. I wonder why the designer does not include the auto off function since the PIC chip used inside the board could be programmed to have such feature?

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  31. kenzu

    August 14, 2012 at 3:19 am

    thanks sir for info..  

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  32. Oguche Felix Michael

    August 14, 2012 at 3:24 am

    Sir, I always  enjoy your books and update, but I will like to take course on Laptop motherboard repair with you. how can this be possible I live in Nigeria, also I have interest in getting my Masters outside Nigeria in Electronic I need direction please.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 4:17 am

      Hi Oguche,

      Sorry i do not have the motherboard repair course.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  33. vanesh

    August 14, 2012 at 3:28 am

    Dear Jestine,
    i dont have Paypal account.......can i use credit card to purchases instate

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 4:15 am

      Hi Vanesh,

      You need to email the owner to check it out.

      Jetsine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  34. Gurpreet

    August 14, 2012 at 4:05 am

    Hi Mr. Yong
    Is the only way to send you money is through card only or any other way to fulfil this process.  Till now i have not purchased anything online.
    If there is any other way kindly let me know. 
    By the way as usual your information is really value added.......
    Thanks
    Gurpreet

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 4:16 am

      Hi Gurpreet,

      You need to email the owner for any alternative payment.

      jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  35. jojogreg

    August 14, 2012 at 4:47 am

    very nice tester,auto ranging no hassle easy to recognize the result..thanks jestine..more updates..

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  36. beh

    August 14, 2012 at 5:09 am

    HI JESTINE the last price for this checker in the ebay is 31.44 usd no 27.usd any more. beh

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 7:39 am

      Hi beh,

      The price is still the same:

      http://www.ebay.com/itm/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=180861133080&ssPageName=ADME:B:EOIBSA:MY:3160

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  37. gilbert benjamin

    August 14, 2012 at 5:27 am

    hey Jesting, two things how much does the meter on display cost? and could you such a meter to test fuel capaciters for aircrafts?
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 7:38 am

      HI Gilbert,

      I bought at USD27.99. As for testing the fuel capacitors for aircraft sorry i have no info on this. What is the value of the fuel capacitor for aircraft?

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  38. Richard

    August 14, 2012 at 7:54 am

    I would like to findout if  you can supply  us with plasma, lcd tv parts? At the moment i need the following things(LG PLASMA  Z SUSTAIN BOARD PART NO  6871QZH033A  RZ 42PX11 42V6 AND ALSO 32'' PLASMA POWERSUPPLY  BOARD  POART NO  PS -7231-1M-LF. ITS URGENT  GOOD DAY  RICHARD  (ZAMBIA)

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 8:47 pm

      Hi Richard,

      Sorry i do not sell spare parts. Try shopjimmy.com, ebay.com and encompassparts.com

      jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  39. ramon

    August 14, 2012 at 9:59 am

    it is realy nice and handy! but its more better if they include the ac and dc meter also!

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 8:49 pm

      Hi Perumal,

      If you have the budget yes you can try that meter because it has two meters built into one. Try search for peakelec.co.uk for the same type of meter but smaller size.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  40. samuel suero

    August 14, 2012 at 10:04 am

    Hi Jestine.
    what do you think about this? it is cheaper
    http://www.dealextreme.com/p/3-digit-capacitor-capacitance-meter-200pf-20mf-27256
    thanks in advance

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 14, 2012 at 8:46 pm

      Hi Samuel,

      Same like other digital capacitance meter where you have to manually set it. There is no auto Mode.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  41. vanesh

    August 14, 2012 at 8:08 pm

    Dear Jestine,
    Sorry on my early comment...... i already bought it using paypal. Thank you for sharing
    vanesh
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  42. Willie

    August 15, 2012 at 2:19 am

    Hi Jestine 
    Thank's for the info, hope i can buy one soon.
    Willie
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  43. kelvin chambula

    August 15, 2012 at 7:35 am

    thank for this thing you doing to us.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  44. noel gervais gerard

    August 15, 2012 at 11:44 am

    Hi sir  thank for help about the jy6013  Digital capacitor tester i see its very useful for electronic Repairer technician with the auto ranging system you can easily test cap without selecting range thank again God bless

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  45. Romeo

    August 15, 2012 at 8:43 pm

    Hi jestine,
    Thanks for sharing info on these kinds of meters at least I have an idea about this kind. Let me take this opportunity to ask you about power supply, is the HOT section of circuit board of TV or monitor is also a part of HOT Area and not a part of the cold area. I have seen on some schematics that the ground of the HOT is the same as the ground on the hot area which is triangle in shape. Thanks

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 15, 2012 at 11:30 pm

      Hi Romeo,

      If you are referring to SMPS then yes the HOT section is part of the HOT are.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  46. Emmanuel modest

    August 16, 2012 at 2:22 am

    I like this ground. But i need to know much about semiconductor measurements (resistor,capacitor,transistor,diodes and others) thanks.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 16, 2012 at 10:52 pm

      Hi Emmanuel,
      All these I had compiled into an ebook at http://www.TestingElectronicComponents.com

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  47. Romeo

    August 16, 2012 at 7:26 am

    Hi Jestine,
    Thanks for the info you have given me.So in this case I can use the negative pin of the main filter cap(primary side) as ground when I get a voltage reading on the collector pin as well as on the base pin of HOT(horizontal output trans.)am I correct? Regards then
    Romeo

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 16, 2012 at 10:52 pm

      Hi Romeo,

      No you can't because main filter cap is the HOT ground and your horizontal output transistor is cold ground. If you want to check anything at secondary side then use cold ground.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  48. Wimpie

    August 16, 2012 at 12:47 pm

    Hi Jestine,
    What meter is best between this one and blue esr meter?
    Wimpie

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 16, 2012 at 10:53 pm

      Hi Wimpie,

      Both have different function. Once is to check ESR and the other one to check on Capacitance value. You can get one that have both function.

      Jestine

      Likes(1)Dislikes(0)
  49. sunil shah

    August 17, 2012 at 3:30 am

    how about testing is possible with on board capacitor testing !

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 18, 2012 at 12:33 am

      Hi Sunil,

      This meter can't test onboard. You need an ESR meter to perform such job.

      jestine

      Likes(1)Dislikes(0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *