Review Of Smart SMD Component Tester model BM8910

By on September 11, 2012

This SMD Tester is suitable for testing Surface Mount Device (SMD) components and it is a convenient one hand operation tester. To turn on the tester just press and hold the Function button for one second and you can start to perform the test. If you would like to turn it off, press and hold the Function button again for few seconds and it will be turned off. Check out the photos below that have the explanation of this tester:

bm8910 smd tester

bm8910 smd tester

bm8910 smd tester

bm8910 smd smart tester

bm8910 smd smart tester

bm8910 smd smart tester

bm8910 smd smart tester

smd smart tweezers

smd smart tweezers

smd smart tweezers

smd smart tweezers

smd smart tweezers

smd smart tweezers

smd smart tweezers

 

Advantages of the Smart SMD Tester:

1)    Compact/Light/ Handy design

2)    Easy to use- Just turn on the tester and you can check on the components with the autoscan component function. If you want a more specific test you can manually select on the right range to test on the components.

3)   Big LCD screen for easy viewing

4)    Cheap price (about USD30 +) including shipping-as compare to other SMD Testers in the market.

 

Disadvantages of the Smart SMD Tester:

1)   The tip of the probes is not as sharp as the one by Smart Tweezer thus sometimes while checking on the components, it can be slipped.

2)   It does not have a manual to guide you how to use this tester. You may have to figure it out on your own

3)   It can only test Resistors, Capacitors and Diodes. In other words the testing function is limited

4) Just like any other tester, it can’t be use to test onboard. The components need to be soldered out for accuracy testing.

 

For more details and specification you can visit the company main website at http://www.cnbjyb.com  

Note: If you order from Ebay.com, I suggest that you email the owner if you want the tester to reach your place fast and secure. Of course you have to pay for the additional shipping charge. If you do not wish to pay the extra fees and continue to use the free shipping then you need to wait about 15 to 30 days for it to arrive. 

Special notice: I do not endorse that you should use this Smart SMD Component tester nor I’m affiliated with any of the ebay seller. This is just a review based on my own opinion. If you think that you want to buy this tester, then you have to take your own responsibility. Just visit Ebay.com and key in BM8910. If you need any info about this SMD Tester you need to sign up at Ebay.com and from there you can contact the seller for alternative payment and mode of shipping.

If you do not wish to buy any SMD Tester you can always get a SMD Test probes connected to your favorite Digital Multimeter as seen from the photo below:

smd smart tweezers

If you have any question about this post please feel free to comment-thanks.

Jestine Yong

Likes(4)Dislikes(0)

55 Comments

  1. Stefan

    September 11, 2012 at 8:50 am

     
    The Smart SMD Tester  look's good and helpfull.
    Can I buy it, where and how to pay?
    Best regards
    Stefan

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 11, 2012 at 9:44 am

      Hi Stefan,

      You can buy it from Ebay.com and use Paypal as a way to make a payment.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  2. TANA

    September 11, 2012 at 8:53 am

    Dear Jestine,
    That was a good review . I would like one that can test a transistor also. If not I will keep buying all sort of tester. That is a disadvantage.
    Thanks for the Review Jeastine
     
    Tana

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  3. Prasad

    September 11, 2012 at 9:01 am

    I think this very useful send me all the details.
     
    Thank you.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  4. augustin

    September 11, 2012 at 9:05 am

    thank for. briefings !

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  5. TANA

    September 11, 2012 at 9:17 am

    In the photo of the multimeter  both connector of the  SMD probes is connected to one terminal only. Is that right or a mistake?
     
    Tana

    Likes(1)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 11, 2012 at 9:43 am

      Hi Tana,

      The SMD Test probes have two cables and is connected to the multimeter (+) and (-) sockets.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  6. Lawrence A Mc Coig

    September 11, 2012 at 9:54 am

    Hello Jestine,
         I wonder about the current-voltage signature test when equipment under test is powered down and all capacitors discharged.  I know you are supposed to have working model of same kind to check for differences in like circuits. 
          My question,  after a repair, why not record working set of current-voltage signature test in library for future reference for like models?  It would seem to speed up repairs at a later date.
    -Thank you,
    Lawrence A Mc Coig
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 11, 2012 at 10:32 am

      Hi Lawrence,

      I usually do that but I rarely use the test equipment (Huntron 2000) in my troubleshooting work. If you repair lots of same model type of equipment then it is compulsory to record all the signature down.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  7. Bernie Scott

    September 11, 2012 at 10:12 am

    Good article. I read your articles all the time...How about just using a set of SMD probes with my digital meter...you had mentioned this...is this a reliable set-up?? If so, then that would probably be the route that I would take....that way you could take voltage readings across different components as well...such as caps and transistor junctions and diodes and resistors etc....what are your thoughts on this....
    Cheers,
    Bernie

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 11, 2012 at 10:30 am

      Hi Bernie,

      Yes it is a recommended set up. You will have more choice to test variety of components (including voltage, current and etc).

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  8. Jorge Marroquin

    September 11, 2012 at 11:04 am

    Dear Jestine:
    SMD test probes connected to an accuracy digital multimeter is the best solution.
    Jorge Marroquin 

    Likes(1)Dislikes(0)
  9. hello

    September 11, 2012 at 12:57 pm

    Jestine, other form pay, i working in Peru South America.
    Thanks
    Ricardo

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 11, 2012 at 8:38 pm

      Hi Ricardo,

      Try email the seller for alternative payment.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  10. Richard

    September 11, 2012 at 2:45 pm

    Thanks Jestine for your updated test equipment.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  11. Vincent Kondo

    September 11, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    Hi Jestine,
    Thanks for the SMD Smart Component Tester. (BM8910) Just a question,Is it the same as digitial multimeters that can be used to test voltage & currents etc....for other components!
    Vincent

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 11, 2012 at 8:19 pm

      Hi Vincent,

      Yes it is the same except you can hold the tester with one hand and read the result.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  12. Danny McBride

    September 11, 2012 at 6:12 pm

    Thanks Jestine,
    I appreciate your simple approach, and many good ideas.
    I designed simple component Signature analyser in mid-late '60s.
    Being long since retired, I am encouraged to see your zeal.
    Thanks again, Danny.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 11, 2012 at 10:19 pm

      Hi Danny,

      You are welcome and nice to know your former profession.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  13. rodney watson

    September 11, 2012 at 6:42 pm

    Thank you for the reveiw Jestine , I will look at probes for my multi meter I think, I was fortunate enough to get aFlue 87 as a gift , I think that will suffice , with SMD probes.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  14. nalin saminda

    September 11, 2012 at 10:29 pm

    Dear Mr.jestine

    thank you this information.i bought ccfl tester also which you sent me.that one also very useful tool for lcd repair.i think this tool also good.
    Thank you
    nalins aminda

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  15. Bijoy P Velappan

    September 11, 2012 at 10:46 pm

    Thanks Jestine for your updated test equipment.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  16. Ashutosh

    September 11, 2012 at 10:47 pm

    Hi,
    Nice tester, but testing function is limited.
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  17. Charles

    September 11, 2012 at 11:58 pm

    Thanks for your  valuable introduces,  keep these for reference

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  18. Third Bunachita

    September 12, 2012 at 12:03 am

    Hi Jestine,
          Thank you for sharing  your blog.  It's really a big help on my part time as an electronic tech.
    Your books are also a good source of reference.  I have a small shop in my garage, but I still need some of the basic tools.  Do you know where can i find a lesser price oscilloscope?  Analog will work for me.
    Thank you and more power!
    Third

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 12, 2012 at 12:38 am

      Hi Third,

      I suggest that you try Ebay.com

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  19. Minh Bang

    September 12, 2012 at 12:23 am

    Thank you very much
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  20. Kassim Ali

    September 12, 2012 at 12:58 am

    Hi Dear Jestine , thank you for all your efforts of updating in all electronic related issues. Because of minimization and developments in the testing equipments , are there any handy tester to cover most of electronic needed tests . with my best wregards
    Kassim Ali

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 12, 2012 at 7:31 am

      Hi Kassim,

      No there is no test equipment that can test on all electronics component.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  21. bob

    September 12, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    love your reviews they are fair and impartial

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  22. bob

    September 12, 2012 at 5:53 pm

    very good reviews that can be trusted 

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  23. Jai Etwaroo

    September 12, 2012 at 7:39 pm

    Hi Justin, the BM8910 looks like a smart little package ,How accurate is this unit ? Sooner or later every electronics repairer will need one of them . It is a time saver and easier to test smd component  in tight area.
    But at the moment I would prefer an SMD test probe that I can connect to my fovourite DMM. Where can I purchase the tweezer probe for my DMM?
    jai

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 12, 2012 at 9:07 pm

      Hi Jai,
      Yes it is accurate in checking the component offboard. The tweezer probe can be bought from Ebay.com too.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  24. Daniel

    September 13, 2012 at 6:04 am

    Hi jestine great smd tester .I need one .How can i pay and get it to south africa .Thanks Daniel

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 14, 2012 at 9:22 pm

      Hi DANIEL,

      YOU need to visit ebay.com to check for more info about the payment.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  25. noel gervais gerard

    September 13, 2012 at 9:33 am

    Hi sir thank for the information about this tester its very useful to test smd components and save time in troubleshooting thank again God bless

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  26. Tyrone.

    September 13, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    Very good review Jestine thank you.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  27. walid

    September 14, 2012 at 2:22 am

               ithanks very muche for yow mister jesiiitine yong

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  28. Dominic

    September 14, 2012 at 7:09 am

    SMD test probes connected to DMM would be the best-don't have to worry about a user manual-unless your DMM doesn't come with one.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 14, 2012 at 9:16 pm

      Hi Dominic,

      You are right.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  29. Amarbir [ www.lynx-india.com ]

    September 14, 2012 at 2:46 pm

    Hi Jestine ,
            Would Like To share My Views Regarding The Mastech And This Unit .The MS8910 From Mastech Feels Solid And Has Excellent SMD Metal Grip .This One Does Not Feel That Solid "But Its a Excellent Product " .The Professionalism Of The Mastech Goes Into The Guttter ,The Values It Gives Is Hopless And This One is Very Good And Fast Much More Accurate Also even in circuit  .The Tips Are OK For All Type of SMD Testing i did Not Have Any Issue In The Same  .Not Only This It Has a Auto Scan Function But Also You Can Manually Select "For Example If  You Measure a Capacitor In Circuit And It Shows Ohms ,You Can Manually Override It " .This Unit Never Identifies Anything Wrong Out Of Circuit By The Way  .The Mastech is Hoplessly Bad in Comparision To This Though More Popular  .Even The China Victor SMD Tweezer Is Same As This One .SMD 6013B its Called .In India I Sell This On www.lynx-india.com For The Same Price You Quoted Here .I Will Give a Detailed Review Of The Same Soon  .

    Likes(1)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 14, 2012 at 9:21 pm

      Hi Amarbir,

      Ok will wait for your review.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  30. Altaf

    September 14, 2012 at 10:24 pm

    you r a wonderful engineer and giving lot of technical tip Thanks dear   

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  31. Tomy

    September 16, 2012 at 10:03 am

    where could i buy in Cambodia?
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 17, 2012 at 2:11 am

      Hi Tomy,

      They don't sell it in Cambodia you need to email the owner in ebay.com to send you the meter.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  32. Ervin

    September 18, 2012 at 2:58 pm

    Hi Jestine,
    This tester is pretty good.I hope that we can make it some deal with some parts of your Tools.
    E.Lee
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  33. Khalid Ahmed Sheikh

    September 19, 2012 at 11:52 pm

    What a genius engineer/technician you are i can not believe you are informing us alot
    Thanks alot
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 20, 2012 at 12:25 am

      Hi Khalid,

      This is field is my passion thus no problem in sharing to you all.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  34. Ghiu Vasile-Ion

    September 20, 2012 at 2:03 am

    Dear Sir,
    Interesting all but if you have electronic diagrams it is very easy to repear any
    .I am dr. electronic engineering and radioamator (YO3FHS).
    I am living in Bucharest, sector 6 but am am a half armenian, a quater secui and a quater romanian.
    Thank you for all,
    YO3FHS 

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  35. Luis Estrada

    September 20, 2012 at 10:26 am

    It looks like the Smart Twizzers is still the way to go. Thanks for the good information! Keep up the good work.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  36. geoser.

    September 21, 2012 at 3:29 am

    very useful post sir so thank you..

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  37. Stewart

    December 13, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Hi!... where can i order this tools and what are the ways of payment?
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      December 13, 2012 at 8:15 pm

      Hi Stewart,

      You can order it from ebay.com and you can use Paypal.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  38. Khadafy Miral Amping

    February 5, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    SALAM...! Peace and bLessing of aLmighty GOD be with you aLL aLways....! your Product as shown SMD Tester with ModeL No.BM 8910...! can used it for testing the AC & DC VoLt...?

    Likes(1)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      February 5, 2014 at 2:49 pm

      Hi Khadafy,

      No it can't test ac/dc. Try visit ebay and check for some other models and the pricing. different sellers have different pricing.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *