Review Of The Blue CCFL Tester

By on August 25, 2012

When I bought this Blue CCFL Tester (without any brand) about a month plus ago it does not have manual and box. Anyway it is quite straight forward to use this tester. For those who have bought this tester and have problem in using it then I hope this blog post could be a help to you. According to the seller webpage in EBay, this tester could test up to 1000mm backlight (about 39 inches backlight). This means this tester have no problem in testing the backlight of notebook, LCD Monitor or any other type of LCD panel that have less than 39” of backlight.

You need to know that when you order this tester it does not come with a power adapter. According to the spec, you need to use a 12 volt with 2 ampere DC adapter. If you have a 12 volt 3 ampere ac adapter you can use it too. Below are the photos with some explanation:

ccfl tester

ccfl tester

ccfl tester

ccfl tester circuit

ccfl tester board

ccfl tester mainboard

ccfl backlight tester

ccfl tester

Note: Be extra careful with the high voltage. 

ccfl tester connector

ccfl tester connector

Advantages of the CCFL Tester:

1)    Compact/Light/ Handy design

2)    Easy to use- Just power up the tester and measure across the two ends of the backlight. A good backlight will be very bright and a weak backlight will become reddish or does not light up at all.

3)    Cheap price (about USD14 to USD15.99) including shipping

Disadvantages of the CCFL Tester:

1)    You need to buy an external power ac adapter (12 volt 2 ampere) which can be costly. (Some power adapter could be more expensive than the CCFL tester itself)

2)    It can’t test if the backlight is slightly weak or dim unless if you have the two same type of backlights for comparison.

3)    It can’t test if the backlight has a very slight flickering problem

4)    It can only measure up to 39” backlight. If you repair LCD TVs then this backlight tester is not suitable for you. Nowadays it is very common to have LCD TVs that is more than 42”.

5)    You may need to buy separate connector for different type of backlight connector

Note: If you order from Ebay.com, I suggest that you email the owner if you want the tester to reach your place fast and secure. Of course you have to pay for the additional shipping charge. If you do not wish to pay the extra fees and continue to use the free shipping then you need to wait about 15 to 30 days for it to arrive.

Special notice: I do not endorse that you should use this CCFL Tester nor I’m affiliated with any of the ebay seller. This Blue CCFL Tester is not in anyway associated with the Blue ESR and Blue Ring Tester by Anatekcorp. This is just a review based on my own opinion. If you think that you want to buy this tester, then you have to take your own responsibility. Just visit Ebay.com and key in backlight tester. You will see many types of backlight tester. If you need any info about the backlight tester you need to sign up at Ebay.com and from there you can contact the seller for alternative payment and mode of shipping.

If you have any question about this post please feel free to comment-thanks.

Jestine Yong

Likes(22)Dislikes(2)

71 Comments

  1. John B.

    August 25, 2012 at 11:25 am

    Hi Jestine,
    You should clearly note that this tester is NOT associated with any onf the other BLUE testers out there. The Blue ESR meter or the Blue Ring Tester from Ana Tek, who showcases your books...
    Thanks for all the newsletters over the years. Good reading!
     
    John

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 25, 2012 at 8:36 pm

      Hi John,

      Good point. I will put that in.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  2. Francisco Correia dos Santos

    August 25, 2012 at 11:35 am

    Olá Jestine,
    Gostei muito do artigo.
    Continue assim, disceminando conhecimentos.
    Abraço
    Francisco Correia dos Santos
    Brasil - Recife - PE

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  3. iguizzi

    August 25, 2012 at 11:38 am

    mercie

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  4. A.Bougrine

    August 25, 2012 at 12:13 pm

    Nice to know.
    Thanks

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  5. Anwar Shiekh

    August 25, 2012 at 12:36 pm

    Obvious question; how much of a danger is that exposed high voltage?

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 25, 2012 at 8:39 pm

      Hi Anwar,

      Just be careful with the high voltage. Do not touch the tip once it is on and you are save.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  6. razak17

    August 25, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    good work      thanks

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  7. t m walsh

    August 25, 2012 at 2:43 pm

    Justine,
    Good write up and info.
    I saw a post on u-tube that indicated you could use the power and ballast from a 'curly fry' style fluorescent bulb to power CCFL bulbs.
    Attach the bulb connection wires to the terminals of the CCFL bulb and apply power. If the bulb is good, it will light.
    Of course, I cannot guarantee this will work for everyone, so proceed carefully.
    tom walsh
    georgia, usa

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 25, 2012 at 10:54 pm

      Hi Tom,

      Thanks for the tip.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  8. Roger Doering

    August 25, 2012 at 2:49 pm

    ccfl tester is an Interesting device.   Question is if it generates voltage into that set that could damage the T Con or Inverter board.   Has there been any  information there or have any set manufacturers provided any recommendations regarding its use?  

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 25, 2012 at 8:53 pm

      Hi Roger,

      Sorry no info at this current moment. If you turn off the TV and check the backlight one by one it will not destroy other board. The high voltage would not jump to far. It is just about half cm.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  9. Rich Beinlich

    August 25, 2012 at 2:57 pm

    Jestine,
    Good article. That tester is the same as my TL1040 from HR Electronica. I havent used it much. It claims it test lamps up to 40 inch LCD panels. I also have a LST01 from Mon Serv which works well on LCD computer monitors up to 20 inchs.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 25, 2012 at 8:44 pm

      Hi Rich,

      Good to know that. Which one is better?

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  10. Sreten

    August 25, 2012 at 3:03 pm

    We should'nt build ourselves out of the old inverter. Good cheap and interesting. Maybe I'll buy it

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 25, 2012 at 8:42 pm

      HI Sreten,

      For those who have no budget they can try to build one. If they have the money they could just buy one to save time.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  11. Harry,Sr.

    August 25, 2012 at 3:38 pm

    Hi Jestine,
       This is very good & useful information, however I woul advise caution, with this device, since it produces
    lethal high voltage AC!
    Thanks for good info.
    Harry

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 25, 2012 at 8:25 pm

      Hi Harry,

      Your are right. I've forgot to put it in into my blog post. I will put add in now.

      Thanks

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  12. wayne

    August 25, 2012 at 4:47 pm

    you always amaize me,thanks for the info i am glad to know that you reach out to the less equipted.
    jestine, i got a insignia 32 the lcd glass is cacked while coming to jamaica, i cant get no place that sell
    these lcd glass,the back light is good.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 25, 2012 at 8:43 pm

      Hi Wayne,

      Usually replacement LCD panel is hard to find. Try ebay.com, shopjimmy.com and encompassparts.com

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  13. Justice

    August 25, 2012 at 4:49 pm

    Thank you Jestine for an information so valuable for all electronic repairers.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  14. Kyaw

    August 25, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    Hi Jestin,
     
    Its good to know and thanks for sharing!
     
    Cheers
    Kyaw

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  15. malamig

    August 25, 2012 at 7:47 pm

    Looks like very handy to use.
    Thanks Jestine.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  16. nano-nano

    August 25, 2012 at 8:40 pm

    nice......
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  17. noor hussain

    August 25, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    hi jestine young
       its very good instrument to test  back light tube and thanks  you to give us time

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  18. bijoy

    August 25, 2012 at 9:31 pm

    Super.thanks .Bijoy India .(Kerala.trissur)  

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  19. Md. Shahjahan Miah

    August 25, 2012 at 10:49 pm

    Dear Sir,
    Congratulations for your new invention of CCFL Tester. I hope it will be very helpful for all the people who are working in this field.
    Thanks a lot.
    Shahjahan

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  20. Muhammad sajid

    August 26, 2012 at 12:30 am

    sir i read your monthly news latter. this information is very usefyl to me. i am electronics technician in shaigan pharmaceutical. my exp in electronics feild almost 12year. bascisly i learn the electronics repairing in 1998 private workshop  where i repair colour tv and car deck etc after this i go to  textile insustries as a electronics technician.Where my exp more growth . But when i use internet i learn more to more like your useful tips for repairng mother board ,monitor ,power supply. i blong to pakistan.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  21. augustin

    August 26, 2012 at 1:40 am

    hi Jestine , what kind of circuits are used in that pcb,of course if it's no secret ? 
     thank you , Augustin 
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      August 27, 2012 at 11:05 pm

      Hi Augustin,

      I'm not the designer but what I could see that it is an inverter board converting the 12 volt DC to high pulse AC voltage as output.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  22. Kassim Ali

    August 26, 2012 at 2:19 am

    thank you very much for the detals

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  23. PHILIP ODHIAMBO

    August 26, 2012 at 5:35 am

    Hi Jestine

    Thanks.Am very happy for all the new informations i get from you.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  24. Bop

    August 26, 2012 at 5:51 am

    Hi Jestine, I like more about it's, thank.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  25. TANA

    August 26, 2012 at 8:56 am

    Very good work. Your review is systematic and very helpfull to all those who have thw meter.
     
    Best wishes
     
    Tana

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  26. David

    August 26, 2012 at 10:31 am

    Nice way to test. Thanks for post.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  27. Tyrone.

    August 26, 2012 at 3:53 pm

    Valuable information Jestine.
     
    Tyrone.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  28. samir edarous

    August 26, 2012 at 5:37 pm

    Hi,jestin
    very nice thanks
    samir edarous

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  29. Sim Adm

    August 26, 2012 at 5:44 pm

    Hi Jestine,
    The high voltage is very instant not even a second

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  30. Gurpreet

    August 26, 2012 at 10:26 pm

    Hello Yong
    This information is helpful but this time you have also shown internal circuit, components clearly, which is also too good.
    Thanks
    Gurpreet

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  31. Vinhtv

    August 27, 2012 at 9:53 am

    It's very helpful.Many thanks.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  32. Mircea

    August 27, 2012 at 1:43 pm

    Hi jestine! i have this tester
    is very good greetings from romania
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  33. Abdul Haleem

    August 27, 2012 at 8:58 pm

    I've bought this tester and it's good and cheaper. As many suggested care should be taken to avoid shock from exposed out put terminal. 12Vdc PS you can find easily.
    The seller was swift to ship it to me with paid shipping. Again, cheap and good.
    Abdul Haleem

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  34. PHILIP ODHIAMBO

    August 28, 2012 at 3:21 am

    Hi mr Jestine,
    Am happy to have received this information and others.Always i get to know new things .

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  35. Abdoulie bah

    August 28, 2012 at 6:07 am

    Thank you Mr Yong i am glad you send this information, it will really help us to advance in diagnose LCD back light.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  36. Barn

    August 28, 2012 at 8:56 pm

    Thanks Jestine..This is a revelation..

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  37. noel gervais gerard

    August 29, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Hi sir  its very interesting to know about this tester and know how its work thank for the information its very useful to test LCD monitor backlight thank again

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  38. md hafeez

    August 30, 2012 at 1:28 am

    Thank you sir for the details

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  39. nino

    September 1, 2012 at 1:31 am

    nice info, thank u..

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  40. Daniel

    September 1, 2012 at 1:32 am

    Hi jestine thanks for sharing all this valuable information to us.It is very nice to know about the ccfl tester 

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  41. Nalaka Bandara

    September 1, 2012 at 7:10 am

    thats good all ways mr.young right i know personaly
    that good news for tecnician

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  42. bob lou

    September 4, 2012 at 2:04 pm

    this would be ok for me...I am planning to reopen my business and fix small computer monitors....thanks again for sharing your knowledge with us Jestin.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  43. h.mbatta(sisisote65)

    September 6, 2012 at 5:50 am

    thank you very much am very interested with the CCFL tester, can you alow me to orderit  throug you? as i have build a big trust with you personally

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      September 6, 2012 at 9:02 pm

      Hi mbatta,

      I suggest that you email them and deal with the owner directly.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  44. Nuwan Tharaka

    September 9, 2012 at 6:56 am

    It's very useful to me. Thank you jestine for sharing your knowledge with us. More and more things are warmly welcome.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  45. costica

    October 8, 2012 at 12:31 am

    multumesc,sint informatii interesante si utile tineti tot asa.d.le jestine

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  46. Nelson Caballero

    October 15, 2012 at 8:45 am

    If you want to save some money, DIY style... save those inverter boards , we can use them as testers for ccfl in the future,
    Nelson

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  47. Rudy

    January 3, 2013 at 11:44 am

    Many thanks Jestine, your tutorials are very very useful
    Rudy
     

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  48. telemack

    January 4, 2013 at 3:15 pm

    thanks mr young for all those information in electronics happy new year

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  49. Jahangir, Pasha

    January 5, 2013 at 4:50 pm

    thats grate tester i have maded some loke this taster, Thanks... By PASHA, PAKISTANI.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  50. don angelo

    January 11, 2013 at 4:02 am

    very much thanks for ur newst technical support in electronic repairing field .and its very usefull .i wish u a happy new year . by don

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      January 11, 2013 at 7:25 am

      HI Don,

      You are welcome! As for the treadmill diagram sorry I do not keep any schematic diagram.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *