Review of the DY294 Digital Transistor Tester-Part 2

By on June 3, 2010

Hope you have enjoyed part 1 test result of this DY294 Digital Transistor Tester and below is the part 2 test result:

Use as a DC voltage signal source:

This meter produce over 240 and 1000 volt and you can use this voltages as a Dc signal source for troubleshooting and etc.

digital transistor tester dy294

digital transistor tester dy294

Testing LED:

Certain types of LED can’t be test using analog meter like the one use in the Blue ESR meter. However this meter can be used to test on many different types of LED. Just set the meter to few different ranges and you could see the LED will light and the intensity of the light is depends on which range that you have selected.

digital transistor tester dy294

Testing Varistor:

This meter can be used to test on voltage value of a Varistor. In the photo below, the Varistor have a rating of 471 volt and this meter reads 472 volt which is quite accurate. A bad Varistor will not show the exact voltage value.

 digital transistor tester dy294

digital transistor tester dy294

Testing Neon Lamp:

Don’t be surprise that this meter can be used to check on the Neon Lamp. Just connect the Neon Lamp and select 2 Amp range and you could see that the neon lamp will light up.

 neon lamp

Testing Ultra Fast Recovery And Schottky Diode Forward voltage drop:

 The result can be seen from the photos below:

forward voltage drop of diode

 forward voltage drop of schottky diode

 shorted diode

Testing Ultra Fast Recovery and Schottky Diode Reverse Breakdown voltage:

 The test result can be seen from the below photos:

reverse breakdown voltage

reverse breakdown voltage

reverse breakdown voltage for schottky diode

reverse breakdown voltage for schottky diode

Testing Zener Diode Forward Voltage Drop:

Test result can be seen from the photos below:

 

 

forward voltage drop zener diode

Testing Zener Diode Breakdown Voltage:

I found that the test result for certain zener diode voltage value was not really exact because zener diode just like other components have tolerance. See the photos below especially testing the 15 volt zener diode. it reads only 14.3 volt:

 testing zener diode

From these two parts of testing it seems that this meter is a winner as it can test so many types of electronic components. Don’t miss out on part 3 as there will be more information to be revealed soon.

Likes(15)Dislikes(1)

15 Comments

  1. John Preher

    June 3, 2010 at 8:12 pm

    I have completely decides I am going to order one of the DY294. What a handy device for sure and an amazing price for the apparent quality. Very excited about this review, thanks for taking the time Jestine.

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  2. admin

    June 3, 2010 at 8:25 pm

    Hi John,

    I suggest that all electronic repairers should get this meter.

    Jestine

    Likes(1)Dislikes(0)
  3. Tu Ngo

    June 4, 2010 at 7:52 am

    Hi Jestine,

    Thanks for taking the time to do the review. Very informative!

    Thanks

    Tu

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  4. admin

    June 4, 2010 at 8:52 am

    HI Tu,

    You are welcome!

    Jestine

    Likes(1)Dislikes(0)
  5. Waleed Rishmawi

    June 4, 2010 at 9:29 am

    indeed. very useful device. thanks for the effort and time spent on this test..I appreciate it very much

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  6. beh

    June 4, 2010 at 9:45 am

    MR YONG

    can you make any facility to get this valuable test equipment via
    your company ,i am sure many of ERG members like to have this as well as
    me
    and still i am waiting for third part of your technical report
    regards
    beh

    Likes(1)Dislikes(0)
  7. admin

    June 4, 2010 at 7:49 pm

    Hi Beh,

    I suggest that they can visit this website to get it:

    http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=260607100672

    which is more convenience.

    Jestine

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  8. siebo

    June 6, 2010 at 3:34 pm

    hi

    interesting meter. i am thinking of buying one.
    i wonder if this meter also can detect, component breakdown when under full load? If so , it's very interesting meter

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  9. admin

    June 7, 2010 at 4:47 am

    HI Siebo,

    I can't 100% confirm that but it still a good meter

    Jestine

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  10. gozie

    August 18, 2011 at 7:18 am

    its very educative informative

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  11. Rad

    January 19, 2012 at 6:15 pm

    Hi Jestine, I bought the DY294 TESTER and first tried to test the voltage coming out 0n the 1000 scale, when i press test botton it read 1562v on it own display without my DMM connected. When i connect my tester to ( C & E ) the volt reads 1184. Also on the 200 scale when i press test button the dy294 screen shows the volts increasing then display "1" on my DMM it shows 247v, is it normal for the dy294 to show the volts increase then display "1" only on 200 scale?

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  12. admin

    January 20, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Hi Rad,

    I have just checked my meter according to your setting and it was the same result. This means your meter is good.

    Jestine

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  13. Juan

    April 15, 2012 at 4:36 pm

    I received my tester yesterday, DY294. Everything seem to work good as you show in your reviews.
    The only little problem I am having with it is when I test the breakdown voltage of zener diode which is 3.3V, the tester only show 1.7V. I know the zener diode is good because it is new and I test it with other meters. 
    The breakdown voltage of zener diode rated at 5.1V and higher are showing good readings.
    I don't know if there is something I don't understand because on page 9 of the manual it says that a range can be used to test zener diode of less than 5V. I don't know which range exactly.
     
    Juan

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
    • Jestine Yong

      April 19, 2012 at 10:28 pm

      HI Juan,

      This tester consume lots of batteries power. Make sure you have new batteries before you test it. Try test few more different type of zener diode voltage and see the result. From my own testing it seems that there is some tolerance in testing zener diode but in your case it seems to be out a lot.

      Jestine

      Likes(0)Dislikes(0)
  14. Juan

    April 24, 2012 at 2:22 pm

    Hi! Thanks Jestine!
    The batteries were new when I did the tests. Right now the batteries only show 5.9V total. I have ordered a power adaptor for it so I am waiting for the adaptor. 
    It is still a very good tester because it does a lot of tests that are not done by other meters. Only zener diodes below 5V don't read correct but I can test those small voltage diodes with the 9V power supply and resistor circuit. It works good.
    Juan

    Likes(0)Dislikes(0)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *